top of page
  • Writer's pictureAsha Venkatarao

Pancha Tattvas - 5 Elements; 5 Practices

Pancha Tattvas, also known as the "Five Elements" is a concept in Hinduism and Ayurveda that describes the five basic elements of the universe.

These five elements are believed to make up the physical universe and also form the basis of the human body and mind. In Ayurveda, the balance of these elements within the body is considered essential for good health, and various practices are used to bring them into harmony. Additionally, in some schools of Hindu philosophy, the Pancha Tattvas are seen as representing different aspects of the divine, with ether being the most subtle and earth the most manifest.

The term "Tattva" refers to principles or categories, while "Pancha" means five.

The five elements are: 1.Earth (Prithvi Tattva): This element represents solidity, stability, and physicality. It is associated with the sense of smell and the Muladhara or root chakra. To balance this element, one can focus on grounding practices, such as yoga postures that connect the body to the earth, like Tadasana (Mountain Pose) or Virabhadrasana (Warrior Pose). The Prithvi Namaskara Sequence encompasses all the Asanas needed for balancing the Earth element within us. Chanting the "OM"kara holding the Prithvi Mudra in the palms grounds the mind to a conscious connection to the Earth. Eating grounding foods like root vegetables, nuts, and seeds can also be beneficial.

2. Water (Jala Tattva): This element represents fluidity, adaptability, and change. It is associated with the sense of taste. It is associated with the Swadishsthana or Sacral chakra. You can do fluidity practices such as dancing or swimming. Practicing Jala Namaskara Sequence is a mindful way to connect to the Water element in ourselves. Mindful practice of Jala Sparsha Kriya - drinking sips of water, slowly will definitely increase our connection to the Water element. Drinking plenty of water and consuming hydrating foods like fruits and vegetables can also help.

3.Fire (Agni Tattva): This element represents transformation, heat, and light. It is associated with the sense of sight and the Manipura or solar plexus chakra. One can focus on practices that cultivate heat and energy, such as practicing Ujjayi pranayama (breathing exercises). Practicing Agni Namaskara sequence is beneficial to connect to the Fire element within us. Practicing Trakata Meditation, a technique in which we gaze at a flame will allow us to feel the Fire element within us. Eating warming foods like ginger, cinnamon, and turmeric can also be beneficial.

4. Air (Vayu Tattva): This element represents movement, mobility, and expansion. It is associated with the sense of touch and the Anahata or heart chakra. To balance this element, one can focus on practices that promote movement and expansion, such as yoga poses that open the chest and promote deep breathing. Learn Vayu Namaskara and practice it daily to keep the body light & energetic! Eating light, airy foods like fresh fruits and sprouted grains can also be helpful.

5. Ether or Space (Akasha Tattva): This element represents openness, expansiveness, and connectedness. It is associated with the sense of hearing and the Vishuddha or throat chakra. The Surya Namaskara Sequence has been practiced for centuries to balance Akasha Tattva within us. To balance this element further, one can focus on practices that cultivate spaciousness and openness, such as Meditation or spending time in nature. Consuming light, airy foods like sprouts and grains can also be beneficial.

In addition to these practices, Ayurveda also recommends tailoring one's lifestyle to their unique dosha (body type) to help balance the Pancha Tattvas.

Hope this gives you a brief understanding of this ancient concept and expands your knowledge of the connection that always exists between us and Nature.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page